Home » All News » ABC to Air 10 Additional “Monday Night Football” Broadcasts This Season

ABC to Air 10 Additional “Monday Night Football” Broadcasts This Season

ABC will air ten more “Monday Night Football” games than previously expected this season, simulcasting then with Disney TV sibling ESPN in a move that will help the broadcast network as the industry grapples with ongoing strikes by WGA and SAG-AFTRA.

According to Variety, the football stratagem is seen as a one-time-only maneuver made due to extraordinary circumstances. ABC, like its rivals, will have fewer scripted originals this fall due to the strikes and live sports have proven, perhaps, to be the one format still able to lure an attractive, large audience all watching content simultaneously — a dynamic still craved by advertisers and distributors.

You can view the schedule below:

Date Time Matchup
Monday, Sept. 18 8:15 p.m. Browns-Steelers ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Sept. 25 7:15 p.m. Eagles-Buccaneers ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Oct. 2 8:15 p.m. Seahawks-Giants ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Oct. 9 8:15 p.m. Packers-Raiders ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Oct. 16 8:15 p.m. Cowboys-Chargers ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Oct. 23 8:15 p.m. 49ers-Vikings ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Oct. 30 8:15 p.m. Raiders-Lions ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Nov. 6 8:15 p.m. Chargers-Jets ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Nov. 13 8:15 p.m. Broncos-Bills ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Nov. 20 8:15 p.m. Eagles-Chiefs ABC, ESPN, ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes
Monday, Nov. 27 8:15 p.m. Bears-Vikings ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Dec. 4 8:15 p.m. Bengals-Jaguars ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Dec. 11 8:15 p.m. Packers-Giants ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Dec. 18 8:15 p.m. Chiefs-Patriots ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Monday, Dec. 25 8:15 p.m. Ravens-49ers ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Saturday. Dec. 30 8:15 p.m. Lions-Cowboys ABC, ESPN+, ESPN Deportes
Saturday, Jan. 6 4:30 p.m. TBD ABC, ESPN, ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes
8:15 p.m. TBD ABC, ESPN, ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes
Monday, Jan. 15 8:15 p.m. Super Wild Card Game ABC, ESPN, ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes
Jan. 20 or Jan. 21 TBD Divisional Playoff Game ABC, ESPN, ESPN+ and ESPN Deportes

Viewers who tune in may see an opening segment aimed at luring big crowds. ESPN said Monday that it would open “Monday Night Football” with a new music video featuring Chris Stapleton, Snoop Dogg, and drummer Cindy Blackman Santana performing the Phil Collins hit “In The Air Tonight.” Traditionalists need not worry: “Heavy Action,” the longtime “MNF” theme, remains a part of the proceedings.

 

Source: Variety

Michelle Beck
Follow Me!

Leave a Comment