Home » All News » Review: Disney+ Original Series ‘The Muppets Mayhem’

Review: Disney+ Original Series ‘The Muppets Mayhem’

The new Disney+ Original comedy series “The Muppets Mayhem,” starring Lilly Singh, Tahj Mowry, Saara Chaudry and The Electric Mayhem Band premieres with all episodes on May 10, only on Disney+.

This review is based on all 10 episodes.

The Muppets Mayhem kicks off with an ingenious concept: Focus a humorous series around the disorderly yet charming ensemble known as Dr. Teeth and the Electric Mayhem.

“The Muppets Mayhem” follows The Electric Mayhem Band — Dr. Teeth on vocals and keyboards, Animal on drums, Floyd Pepper on vocals and bass, Janice on vocals and lead guitar, Zoot on saxophone and Lips on trumpet — on an epic, music-filled journey to record their first-ever studio album. With the help of a driven young music executive, Nora Singh (Singh), the old-school Muppet band comes face-to-face with the current-day music scene as they try to finally record their first studio album.

The most enchanting aspect of The Muppets Mayhem lies in deepening our understanding of these eccentric characters who usually only make fleeting cameo appearances. In the absence of well-known Muppets such as Kermit, Miss Piggy, Gonzo, and others to steer the narrative, we uncover Animal’s unexpected history and secret abilities, immerse ourselves in Janice’s countercultural perspective, and learn the origin of Dr. Teeth’s unique name, among other intriguing discoveries.

Moreover, the music is a highlight. After all, this is a series centered around a rock group, and the original tunes it presents are so exceptional that you’ll crave even more. “Rock On,” the program’s signature track, is an outstanding hit, and you should brace yourself for its infectious melody to loop in your mind.

The Muppets Mayhem features various cameos from music legends and Oscar winners, adding depth and fun to the story. The show nods to iconic Muppet moments and acknowledges its roots while blazing a fresh path, The Muppets Mayhem is on a journey to rock paradise.

Guests stars for the show include:

  • Paula Abdul
  • Steve Aoki
  • David Bizarro
  • Rachel Bloom
  • Nicole Byer
  • Sofia Carson
  • Charlamagne Tha God
  • Tommy Chong
  • Billy Corgan
  • Stephanie D’Abruzzo
  • deadmau5
  • Desiigner
  • Colton Dunn
  • Morgan Freeman
  • Susanna Hoffs
  • James Hong
  • Jennifer Irwin
  • Karamo
  • Kesha
  • Tommy Lee
  • Lil Nas X
  • Riki Lindhome
  • Cheech Marin
  • Ziggy Marley
  • Jack McBrayer
  • Arden Myrin
  • Nico Santos
  • Kristen Schaal
  • Ben Schwartz
  • Ryan Seacrest
  • Kevin Smith
  • Chris Stapleton
  • Danny Trejo
  • Joe Lo Truglio
  • “Weird Al” Yankovic
  • Cedric Yarbrough
  • Zedd

Based on characters created by Jim Henson, the Disney+ Original series from Disney Branded Television is produced by ABC Signature and The Muppets Studio. The project was developed and written by executive producers Adam F. Goldberg (“The Goldbergs”), Bill Barretta (“The Muppets,” “Muppets Haunted Mansion”) and co-executive producer Jeff Yorkes. Michael Bostick, Kris Eber and The Muppets Studio’s David Lightbody and Leigh Slaughter also serve as executive producers. Original music by executive music producer and Songwriter Hall of Fame inductee Linda Perry.

“The Muppets Mayhem” soundtrack will be available on streaming platforms beginning May 10, and the band’s debut album, “The Electric Mayhem,” is set for release on vinyl on May 12. Pre-save/pre-add the digital soundtrack and pre-order the vinyl album here. Listen to your favorite tracks from the Muppets on the official playlist here.

You can watch a trailer for the series below:

The Muppets Mayhem debuts Wednesday, May 10 on Disney+.

Tom Hedley
Follow Me!

Leave a Comment